THE UNDYING: PAIN, VULNERABILITY, MORTALITY, MEDICINE, ART, TIME, DREAMS, DATA, EXHAUSTION, CANCER, AND CARE

Imagen de cubierta: THE UNDYING: PAIN, VULNERABILITY, MORTALITY, MEDICINE, ART, TIME, DREAMS, DATA, EXHAUSTION, CANCER, AND CARE
Precio: 19,55€
Este libro tiene disponibilidad inmediata
Editorial: 
Coleccion del libro: 
Idioma: 
Inglés
Número de páginas: 
320
Dimensiones: 190 cm × 130 cm × 0 cm
Fecha de publicación: 
2020
ISBN: 
978-1-250-75798-2

WINNER OF THE 2020 PULITZER PRIZE IN GENERAL NONFICTION

The Undying is a startling, urgent intervention in our discourses about sickness and health, art and science, language and literature, and mortality and death. In dissecting what she terms 'the ideological regime of cancer, ' Anne Boyer has produced a profound and unforgettable document on the experience of life itself. --Sally Rooney, author of Normal People

Anne Boyer's radically unsentimental account of cancer and the 'carcinogenosphere' obliterates cliche. By demonstrating how her utterly specific experience is also irreducibly social, she opens up new spaces for thinking and feeling together. The Undying is an outraged, beautiful, and brilliant work of embodied critique. --Ben Lerner, author of The Topeka School

A week after her forty-first birthday, the acclaimed poet Anne Boyer was diagnosed with highly aggressive triple-negative breast cancer. For a single mother living paycheck to paycheck who had always been the caregiver rather than the one needing care, the catastrophic illness was both a crisis and an initiation into new ideas about mortality and the gendered politics of illness.

A twenty-first-century Illness as Metaphor, as well as a harrowing memoir of survival, The Undying explores the experience of illness as mediated by digital screens, weaving in ancient Roman dream diarists, cancer hoaxers and fetishists, cancer vloggers, corporate lies, John Donne, pro-pain "dolorists," the ecological costs of chemotherapy, and the many little murders of capitalism. It excoriates the pharmaceutical industry and the bland hypocrisies of "pink ribbon culture" while also diving into the long literary line of women writing about their own illnesses and ongoing deaths: Audre Lorde, Kathy Acker, Susan Sontag, and others.

A genre-bending memoir in the tradition of The Argonauts, The Undying will break your heart, make you angry enough to spit, and show you contemporary America as a thing both desperately ill and occasionally, perversely glorious.

Includes black-and-white illustrations

AUTOR/A

BOYER, ANNE

(Topeka, Kansas, 1973), poeta y ensayista, es autora de libros como The Romance of Happy Workers (2008), My Common Heart (2011), Garments Against Women (2015) y A Handbook of Disappointed Fate (2018). Su obra ha sido distinguida con, entre otros premios, el Windham-Campbell Literature Prize, el CLMP Firecracker Award, el Whiting Award y el Cy Twombly Award otorgado por la Foundation for Contemporary Arts. Desde 2011, es profesora en el Kansas City Art Institute. Desmorir fue reconocido en 2020 con el Premio Pulitzer de No Ficción.

Imagen de cubierta: DESMORIR
21,90€
Imagen de cubierta: MANUAL PARA DESTINOS DEFRAUDADOS
16,50€